Iced Coffee & Life

Toska

Toska; No single word in English renders all the shades of toska. At its deepest and most painful, it is a sensation of great spiritual anguish, often without any specific cause. At less morbid levels it is a dull ache of the soul, a longing with nothing to long for, a sick pining, a vague restlessness, mental throes, yearning. In particular cases it may be the desire for somebody of something specific, nostalgia, love-sickness. At the lowest level it grades into ennui, boredom.

Outside traffic rumbled and rain drops echoed through out the city streets. Inside jazz music caresses the souls of the lost cafe wanderers. I chase away the creeping hours of darkness coffee firmly in hand.

I drag my soul back “home”, through the quiet cobblestone path, head down until I reach the safety of the dark house. Rain drizzled down the windows as dark clouds engulf the sky. I make a pot of tea and bake some cookies, sit huddled in my blankets and weep, lanterns hang above my head chasing away the shadows of pity. The soothing whispers of time hush me.

The ticking gets louder.

Toni-Yvonne

This entry was published on April 29, 2012 at 6:35 am and is filed under Coffee and Cafes, Inspiration, Life. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “Toska

  1. I have to say that is a beautiful word. And this is a truly decadent post. 🙂

  2. You always take me on such a magical journey with each an every post.

    Hope you had a lovely weekend! xoxo

  3. CinZilicious on said:

    WOw…takes my breath away just reading this. I literally feel like i’m there with you! Hopefully we wont have to endure with Toska for too long;0)

    Have a great week ahead TY=D

    Cinz
    http://cinzee.wordpress.com

  4. betina on said:

    Oh wow, you transport me to a whimsical world subdued in reality.

    Hugs,
    Betina
    http://travelalamode.blogspot.com/

  5. Wow – that is an amazing word. I agree that English sometimes lacks a poetry or depth. Your words create such a world.

  6. Such beautiful images & a lovely post!

  7. Reading your post is like breathing in a deep whiff of delicious coffee and being right there weeping and enjoying at the same time. LOVE!
    xoxo Mary Jo

Leave a Reply

